Our first music performance of the year! Year 7 music evening

15 Nov

We were delighted to be host our first music performance of the year last week with the Year 7 Music Evening. More than 50​ Year 7 students performed to an emotional full house, showcasing what they have been learning throughout their first term at Cheltenham Bournside School.  

All Year 7 students were invited to take part and all instruments were welcome. The talented performances included a vocal duet by Evie and Summer, a Violin solo from Ilias as well as choral performances of Mamma Mia and This Is Me. 

Head of Music, Matt Cutress said: 

Our students put on an incredible performance at the Music Evening, after just one term of music lessons the students have been able to come together and perform with such control, technique and passion. It was a joy to behold such a variety of different performances ranging from a number of solos to full choral pieces. Year 7 should be incredibly proud of themselves and have a bright future ahead of them, starting with next month’s Christmas Concert!

Headteacher, Steve Jefferies said, 

After such a long period where these kind of joyous experiences have been impossible, it was lovely to be able to enjoy the company of staff, parents and of course our enthusiastic performers in such a delightful display of our students’ talents. Talent, hard work, ambition and celebration: this is what being a Bournsider is all about!

We had lovely feedback from parents too, including the email below:

We wanted to say a huge 'thank you' for the concert last night. You all worked so hard and it was an absolute delight to see children singing live again. What a lovely year group of talented musicians!



Music Evening Programme 
  • Harry - Vocal Solo - Hold Back The River 
  • Lareyna - Vocal Solo - All is Found 
  • Elizabeth - Trumpet Solo - Welsh Song 
  • Elizabeth - Vocal Solo - True Colours 
  • Evie and Summer - Vocal Duet - Someone You Loved 
  • Kai - Vocal Solo - Talking to the Moon 
  • Obadiah - Vocal Solo - Shotgun 
  • Brilian - Vocal Solo - Aurora 
  • Ilias - Violin Solo - Castle on a Cloud 
  • George - Guitar Solo - The Man Who Can't Be Moved 
  • Charlie - Guitar Solo - Heatwave 
  • Scarlett - Vocal Solo - I Know Things Now 
  • Hugo - Violin Solo - Havana Breeze 
Whole Ensemble: 
  • Spirituals Medley 
  • I Just Can't Wait to be King 
  • Any Dream Will Do 
  • Sing 
  • Mamma Mia 
  • This is Me 
We are respectfulWe are purposefulWe are proudWe are ambitiousWe are supportiveWe are curious